Vegetable Stock p. 157

Making your own stock is something I never ever thought about until I started reading this book. Who makes their own stock? I guarantee a very small percentage of American kitchens make their own stock. Which, after doing it myself, is a sad thing since its simple, cheap, provides ample stock to save for later, and gives you the control of what you put in your mouth.

One of the things I like about cooking, especially with fresh ingredients, is knowing exactly what I’m putting in my body. I’m not health conscious, just look at my waist line, but I like using fresh ingredients. No processed crap for me, please. Living in the dorm in college was quite challenging for me.

But I digress, back to the stock.

Ingredients: carrots, onions, potato, celery, garlic, mushrooms, tomatoes, parsley, a lot of water.

Basically, you can use whatever you have around. Save your scraps for a few days and make it. I failed to read that part until after I stocked up an ALL the above ingredients. Oops. It was fine though, it made a delicious stock and I have used the remaining fresh veggies in other dishes.

14 cups of water over your veggies makes about 12 cups of stock. So be prepared with baggies or other containers to freeze some for later.

Leave a comment

Filed under stock

Leave a Reply

