Puerto Rican Pork Shoulder and a long weekend

Ahhh, long weekends. You could argue that they are better than a vacation. You don’t have to pack or travel!

I was able to get off work early on Friday and headed straight to the grocery store. I spent the whole afternoon cooking, which was awesome because it freed me up to do no cooking over the weekend! I bought and cooked enough to sustain us over the long weekend without me having to lift a finger.

The first up was prepping a roasted pork shoulder, Puerto Rican Style according the recipe in How to Cook Everything on page 755. To do this I mixed garlic, onion, dried oregano, salt and pepper in the food processor and then rubbed the mixture over the pork shoulder. Mark Bittman suggests letting it sit for an hour or more. I had about 45 minutes. Then cook for 3-4 hours.

The cooked pork.

Once the pork shoulder was in the oven I prepared a homemade salsa from the Pioneer Woman. I’ve made this recipe several times and it is our favorite salsa recipe to date. It never fails. It also makes alot, so despite eating tons and even taking some to a pool party, we still have some left over.

After the salsa was prepared and in the fridge, I started on two banana split cakes. Yes, two. I was assigned to take a dessert to a 4th of July gathering. This is one of my favorite desserts that I hadn’t had in several years, so I wasn’t to thrilled to make something and perhaps only have one piece. That would be horrible. So I made one for myself too. This was also great because even after having multiple servings (breakfast, snack, dessert, repeat) I took it to a small family gathering and shared our wealth of delicious dessert. I even had a few more servings left for myself.

Banana Split Cake

Melt 1 stick butter. Add two cups graham cracker crumbs and press into a 9×13 pan. Soften 2 sticks of butter, combine with 2 cups powdered sugar and 2 eggs. Beat with electric mixer for 15 minutes, no joke. Pour over the crust. Slice 4-6 bananas over the mixture. Top with 15.5 oz crushed pineapple (drained). Cover with big container of Cool Whip and sprinkle with chopped nuts and cherries. Refrigerate and serve.

Overall we had a very relaxing long weekend, which only makes it harder to return to real life. I hope you all had a fabulous weekend and got to celebrate our county’s birth

Leave a comment

Filed under pork

Leave a Reply

