Pimento Cheese

Southern pronunciation “puh-min-A”. This is a staple in most Southern homes, especially in the summer. It is absent from How to Cook Everything and I found myself scouring the internet looking for some guidance.

My mother never made it at home, I don’t think she likes it. So I was never exposed to it as a child. My very few encounters with it I didn’t like it, but then I might not have even given it a fair chance.

Not too long ago I was given a pimento cheese sandwhich and I ate it. It wasn’t as horrible as I had thought it would be. And so it struck me the other day to set out to make my very own batch of homemade pimento cheese.

My natural first choice to investigate was Southern Living. And it did not disappoint. This post was my starting point. After looking at a few more recipes online I was ready to make it myself.

I didn’t vary too much from the Southern Living post. Instead of using fresh onion I used onion powder. This was something that a few of the other recipes did. I also used a mixture of white and yellow cheddar. The batch turned out pretty good. Its not totally perfected (at least to my tastebuds) yet. But I still want to read a few recipes in cookbooks I own as well as consult a few family members.

Do you make pimento cheese? How do you do it?

Leave a comment

Filed under cheese, Everything Else

Leave a Reply

