Ketchup! p. 51-52

My husband loves ketchup. He uses no discretion when applying ketchup. If I were more sensitive I would be offended at his ketchup usage at times. So the idea of making ketchup from scratch appealed to us both. I was intrigued to find out what was behind such a mystical sauce and Bryan to have a source to make unlimited ketchup.

So we started off with fresh tomatoes, bell pepper, onion, celery, garlic, tomato paste, cider vinegar, pickling spice, brown sugar, salt, and cayenne.

It was fairly simple process, although it did take time. In the end we had two large mason jars and one salad dressing container full of our own stuff. The taste was nothing like Heinz. I believe the pickling spice was the most prominent flavor.

I’ve seen other recipes which do not call for that and I may have to investigate further in the future.  Bryan liked it okay, but I think he’d be happier with something more familiar to the bottled stuff.

We enjoyed our ketchup on sliders, fries, hamburgers, and other things.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

