Homemade Pasta: A learning experience

We eat a lot of pasta. Its one of my favorite foods and Bryan is a runner, so he likes to carbo load… although I think he just really likes pasta too.

Once, when I was really young, I went to a friend’s house for a sleepover. My friend’s mom made spaghetti from scratch! From scratch! My young self didn’t even know that was possible. It blew my mind. I don’t remember what it tasted like, but I do remember that sense of awe of making pasta at home. 

Since I started cooking its been one of those things in the back of my mind. But I am definately not a baker. I have a very strong flour aversion. I don’t know why, I just do. I don’t mind flour, I just hate having to come into contact with it and it being loose in my kitchen.

Months back I saw this post on the Pioneer Woman when Pastor Ryan made pasta using Michael Ruhlman’s Ratio book. Not long ago I purchased the Ratio app on my phone and have been anxious to try it out.

I started off with four eggs and a little over 2 cups of flour. I had it in a medium bowl. This is where I belive I failed. I used a fork to help the ingedients combine. (I have a flour aversion, people!) Then it sits for about 15 minutes. I forgot to set a timer so I don’t have any idea of how long I let it rest. Oops.

Then came the part I hate. The flour part. I put a good amount of flour on the counter top and rolled out the dough.

Then it wasn’t so bad. I used a pizza cutter to cut it up into strips. Here’s my 2nd mistake. Cut into very fine strips.

Once I had the water boiling I tossed it in. I wasn’t sure how long to cook my noodles. So I gave it about 3-5 minutes.

The pasta toured out to be big and a bit tough, due to my fork kneading. But the sauce was delicious! But that’s another post for another day.

Have you ever made pasta at home? Whats your tips and tricks? And more importantly does anyone else also hate working with flour?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

