My summer harvest

This spring I set about having my biggest herb and tomato garden errr porch ever. My first married summer we were living in an apartment and had a very small patio. My grandfather gave me a potted tomato plant. It was semi-successful in that I got a couple of small-medium tomatoes off of it before squirrels and cats ate it.

Last summer I purchased a couple of herbs and one tomato plant and they all failed. Mainly due to a pesky puppy who either dug them up or knocked them off. It was very tragic and I still do not like to talk about it to this day.

This summer I decided I’d move things up to the front porch where the dog wouldn’t be able to get to them unless supervised.  I bought new pots and spray painted them a cute color and set about planting. It took me a whole day between buying the plants, the pots, spray painting, and planting. But I was super excited to try to hand at the green thumb.

So I started off with 4 tomato plants (of various species), 1 jalepeno plant, 2 cilantros, 2 basils, 1 thyme, 1 rosemary, 1 chive, 1 mint, and 1 parsley.

This is all the tomato I got out of my FOUR plants:

Yeah. Pathetic. The jalepeno plant did great at first, then it stopped, but now its got 3 on it.

My herbs started off really well. After a few weeks my cilantro died. The mint kicked the bucket a couple of weeks ago. I have to say my favorite was the thyme. It was an impulse purchase, but I am so glad that I gave into it. I’ve really enjoyed using the rosemary and thyme in various dishes. I think I’ve used the basil more than anything.

While I wouldn’t say my third forary into tomato plants was successful, I’m glad I made some progress this year.

What experience have you had with herbs and vegetables?

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My summer harvest

  1. hey rach! I tried a garden this year too. It did not do well either. My herbs all died, minus my monstrous basil. My squash and zucchini (which are supposed to be easy to grow) died from the ground up. I might have gotten three tomatoes but they were all eaten. My cherry tomato plant did really well, I highly recommend those because they are so yummy. However, the rest of my garden was terrible. Because experienced gardeners told me of their troubles this summer, I have high hopes for next year.

  2. Paul

    Wow, that is funny. There are several reasons for the tomato result. First, the pot may be too small–you need a pot at least 18″ diameter pot and at least one cubic foot of soil. The more soil you have, the more fruits you have and the bigger they are. Second, there may be not enough sun exposure–you need at least 6-8 hours of sunlight. And third, which is minor if you already used purchased potting or garden soil is about 1/2 cup of either organic or chemical fertilizer. If you want to grow in a pot, I suggest you google “container vegetable gardening”, and look for those university coop web sites that have “.edu” suffix. Several good sites are Iowa State U., U. of Arizona, U. of maryland. If you don’t want to water everyday, look into self watering containers. There are three suppliers: Earth Box and A Garden Patch in Florida, and Gardener’s Supply in Vermont. Their containers are expensive that runs from $45 to $60. If your husband have time, he can build one. I built mine for $15 each with one Rubbermaid 18″ tub and it took about 10 hours each to cut out the lid and drill the holes. Google “home-made self watering container”. I made modification to those plan in using 4″ HPDE (High Density Polypropylene) drain pipe instead of 4″ PVC pipe for supporting posts and potable poly tube for fill tube instead of PVC. There is some issue with the toxicity of PVC. You can fit two tomato plants in one box. The fruits are plentiful but they are not as big that the ones you grow in the soil due to lack of soil for root grow. About, the cilantro failure, I am guessing that not enough sun exposure. Paul.

Leave a Reply

