Ice cream bread

I learned a very important lesson recently. The difference between all purpose flour and self rising flour. This isn’t really a technical posts on the difference because I didn’t dive in that far. My major lesson learned is: When baking, pay attention to the type of flour. It makes a difference.

So the other day I happened upon a post on ice cream bread. Being a lover of ice cream (my first job was at Baskin Robbins) I had to try it. Basically the recipe goes like this: 2 cups any flavor ice cream, 1.5 cups self rising flour. Simple enough.

My first batch I used all purpose flour. It was awful. We each took a bite and then promptly threw it in the trash. It tasted exactly like flour, was very heavy, and looked awful too.

After a few minutes on google, I convinced myself to try again, this time making my own self-rising flour. I should have mixed the dry ingredients together first, but I didn’t think about it until I had dumped the salt right on top of the ice cream. Whoops. I thoroughly mixed up the ingredients hoping that it would all work out in the end.

This was my final product. It did rise a little compared to the first one, but the flavor still hinted at flour.  One of my guests commented that it was salty. Not really what you’d expect for an ice cream bread. I was expecting something very moist and sweet, but instead its a hard, nearly flavorless bread.

I haven’t given up all hope yet. I will try again with another flavor and perhaps some real self-rising flour.

Have you tried ice cream bread?

Leave a comment

Filed under Everything Else

Leave a Reply

