Muffins, the plain way p. 832

The official title in How to Cook Everything is “Muffin’s, Infinite Ways”. Bran, banana nut, and spice was not appealing to me the morning I decided to bake, so I decided to just go plain. Then I could eat them like bread with lunch or dinner. But my husband wanted chocolate chips in them, so I went crazy and added mini chocolate chips.

One of the things I like about this recipe is how simple it is. Its almost as easy opening the Martha White packages and stirring in milk. Almost. Its nice to know that, if I wanted to, I could whip up a batch of muffins any time I wanted. The key being if I wanted to.

The ingredients are not complicated and baring a crazy pantry crisis, you should have everything on hand at all times. The key to this recipe is how versatile it is, like the title suggests. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever put in a muffin?

I followed the main recipe here and tossed in the chocolate chips. I should have followed the “sweet and rich” variation adding in more sugar and butter. But it turned out okay, just could have used a little bit more sweetness.

I cooked my muffins for 20 minutes, but looks like they could have only gone for about 18. Oh well, next time I’ll know to check it sooner.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

