Chiles Rellenos, p. 333

We have these large sweet peppers in our garden. I purchased the plant as a starter from a local plant sale. I was not expecting such large peppers. But we had several and the only thing I could think to do with them was to make chiles rellenos.

I made it one night last week along with salsa verde. After making the salsa I was ready for dinner. I was displeased to find out i had to roast the peppers and then fry them. Blergh. So I roasted them, removed the skin as best I could, stuffed them with cheese and stuck them back in the oven to cook.

Call it cheating if you will, but I couldn’t bring myself to mess up my kitchen any further that night. I’ll probably have to come back to this recipe and do it up right next time. But until then, it was a fine weeknight dinner.

Chiles Rellenos served with rice and salsa verde

Leave a comment

Filed under veggies

Leave a Reply

