Oven-Roasted Everyday Tomatoes p. 362

This summer our garden is booming. We actually have tomatoes! That ripen and are edible and everything! Major victory for us. We’re proud.

Anyways, the other night I was trying to prepare us a dinner without having to go to the grocery store. You see we had been out of town and then went to a fancy dinner and it had been nearly two weeks since we’d been to the grocery store. I found some chicken tenders in the freezer, pulled some carrots from the garden to steam, and decided to use up some of our tomatoes.

Growing up my mom used to slice tomatoes and roast them in the oven covered in a little parmesean and Italian dressing. It was one of my favorite summer dishes. Bryan is slowly warming up to tomatoes so I thought I could get away with it.

This was even simpler than my mom’s dish. I quartered my large tomatoes, drizzled some olive oil, salt and pepper over them and stuck ’em in the oven.

They turned out okay, I still prefer my mom’s though. I made a big pan full so the next day I used the leftover tomatoes and turned them into a tomato soup. Easy peasy.

Leave a comment

Filed under veggies

Leave a Reply

